navit-project.org

forum for navit navigation tool
It is currently 23 Oct 2017, 04:02
View unanswered posts | View active topics


All times are UTC


Forum rules


Feel free to ask anything here related to the installation and configuration of Navit.

Some notes before your first post:

Please provide as much informations as possible:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Waypoint handling
PostPosted: 08 Jan 2014, 22:01 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 06 Jan 2014, 19:34
Posts: 37
Location: Franken, Bayern, Germany
Hi all,


is it possible (and if so how) from within the GUI on a Android tablet to

  • Remove a waypoint
  • sort waypoints
  • name waypoints so that you know where to insert the next waypoint in the list

On my ancient A780 with Alk CoPilot, all of these features have been present and working since 2005...

Waypoints are named automatically after the street name or number there.


Regards
Ektus


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Waypoint handling
PostPosted: 09 Jan 2014, 10:59 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 09:32
Posts: 200
Location: Rostock, North Germany
Hi Ektus, thank you for your feedback :)

At least deleting a waypoint (we are talking about bookmarks, right?) is currently possible: Mainmenu-bookmarks-<pick the one>-remove Bookmark.

Sorting is AFAIK always in chronological order (last added is at the bottom). What kind of sorting would you prefer and should it be default or optional?


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Waypoint handling
PostPosted: 09 Jan 2014, 11:12 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 06 Jan 2014, 19:34
Posts: 37
Location: Franken, Bayern, Germany
usul wrote:
Hi Ektus, thank you for your feedback :)


You're welcome :-)

usul wrote:
At least deleting a waypoint (we are talking about bookmarks, right?) is currently possible: Mainmenu-bookmarks-<pick the one>-remove Bookmark.

Sorting is AFAIK always in chronological order (last added is at the bottom). What kind of sorting would you prefer and should it be default or optional?


No I'm not talking about bookmarks. I'm talking about routing and route planning.

- Set Position
- Set Destination
- Route is not to my liking, set waypoint on alternate route (or additional destination I want to visit en route)
- repeat
- change order in which waypoints/destinations are visited
- remove waypoint from route
- copy waypoint from route to bookmarks

Did I make myself more clear now?


Regards
Ektus.


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Waypoint handling
PostPosted: 09 Jan 2014, 15:48 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 17:13
Posts: 146
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Adding waypoints is certainly possible, the menu entry for this is called "visit before". So if you have a route planned and click on some point on the map, then on the "world" icon and then on "visit before", you can choose where to add it to the route. However, I'm not sure about removing or reordering waypoints right now, I have to check that.


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Waypoint handling
PostPosted: 10 Jan 2014, 12:23 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 06 Jan 2014, 19:34
Posts: 37
Location: Franken, Bayern, Germany
xenos1984 wrote:
Adding waypoints is certainly possible, the menu entry for this is called "visit before". So if you have a route planned and click on some point on the map, then on the "world" icon and then on "visit before", you can choose where to add it to the route.

Yes, I know and had already found it (once activated in Windows respectively updated in Linux). It does work, but as stated before, it only shows a list with Waypoint1 Waypoint2... where it's unclear which is where on the route, which is the destination, and where they are. Hence the request for naming the waypoints.

xenos1984 wrote:
However, I'm not sure about removing or reordering waypoints right now, I have to check that.


I believe it has been discussed earlier, but I don't know if the waypoint handling has been finished back then.

There are some bugs also in this area:

#46 It'd be nice to have several waypoints, not only a destination(marked fixed, but are the features really there?)
#894 Route along gpx waypoints
#1040 Improve waypoints handling (marked fixed, includes waypoint removal)
#1053 Routing with waypoints only routes to next waypoint after recalculation


Regards
Ektus.


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Waypoint handling
PostPosted: 10 Jan 2014, 14:00 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 17:13
Posts: 146
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Ektus wrote:
Yes, I know and had already found it (once activated in Windows respectively updated in Linux). It does work, but as stated before, it only shows a list with Waypoint1 Waypoint2... where it's unclear which is where on the route, which is the destination, and where they are. Hence the request for naming the waypoints.

Yes, indeed, this feature seems to by missing right now.
Quote:
I believe it has been discussed earlier, but I don't know if the waypoint handling has been finished back then.

I did some research and figured out that for this you need to enable waypoint planning via Settings / Rules / Waypoint planning, or by adding waypoints_flag="1" to the navit tag in navit.xml to have it permanently enabled. If you then select a new destination it will not replace the old one, but be appended to the list of waypoints. You can view the list and delete waypoints via Route in the main menu. Names or coordinates are not shown, but you can click Show on map.


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Waypoint handling
PostPosted: 10 Jan 2014, 19:35 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 06 Jan 2014, 19:34
Posts: 37
Location: Franken, Bayern, Germany
xenos1984 wrote:
I did some research and figured out that for this you need to enable waypoint planning via Settings / Rules / Waypoint planning, or by adding waypoints_flag="1" to the navit tag in navit.xml to have it permanently enabled.

I had to do the latter, as navit won't remember the setting from the GUI :(
There's a line with <navit center=...> in navit.xml wherein I did add "waypoints_flag=1".

xenos1984 wrote:
If you then select a new destination it will not replace the old one, but be appended to the list of waypoints. You can view the list and delete waypoints via Route in the main menu. Names or coordinates are not shown, but you can click Show on map.


Okay, this is working on my Android tablet now. Let's see how Navit behaves on my usual way to work next week :)

Thank You Very Much!

Regards
Ektus.


 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Silver Orange 2.0.6 for IPB Designed by Skins and Hosting
Converted for phpBB3, based on Royal Blue template by BigB © 2007 2008 AEON KINGS