navit-project.org

forum for navit navigation tool
It is currently 22 Nov 2017, 11:16
View unanswered posts | View active topics


All times are UTC


Forum rules


Feel free to ask anything here related to the installation and configuration of Navit.

Some notes before your first post:

Please provide as much informations as possible:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Feature request: Location by geodetic coordinates
PostPosted: 01 Oct 2013, 08:27 
Offline

Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 08:06
Posts: 3
As "routing by streetnames" is not always usable (no streets nearby, or the nearest streetname not known), it would make sense to introduce "route to geodetic coordinate", specified either in

(1) sexagesimal
(2) decimal-degree
(3) decimal-minutes
(4) NMEA lat/log
(5) etc

notation.

The parser code of <navit center="..." ...> statement could be used reused, so missing is the user interface part.

Alternatively, adding bookmark entries by specifying locations by geodetic coordinates would also suffice; as locations in bookmark.txt are saved in Mercator-notation anyways?


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature request: Location by geodetic coordinates
PostPosted: 01 Oct 2013, 08:42 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 17:13
Posts: 146
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Nice idea! The only way I know to route to some coordinate which is not an address is to click at this point on the map and to choose the "world" icon in the menu (internal GUI). But entering coordinates by hand would be quite useful, if these coordinates come from a source such as a geocaching website or similar.

My solution to enter / save coordinates for later use in Navit was using custom POIs:
https://wiki.navit-project.org/index.php/Custom_POIs

Bookmarks use the same coordinate format, yes, it should be Mercator.

Maybe you could also create a feature request ticket in trac?
http://trac.navit-project.org/newticket


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature request: Location by geodetic coordinates
PostPosted: 02 Oct 2013, 11:10 
Offline

Joined: 09 Jul 2013, 17:41
Posts: 82
xenos1984 wrote:
Maybe you could also create a feature request ticket in trac?
http://trac.navit-project.org/newticket


This would be a duplicate of already almost solved http://trac.navit-project.org/ticket/951 . To close it, we have to decide where to place the coordinates input form in our menu tree and some nice icon for that.


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature request: Location by geodetic coordinates
PostPosted: 02 Oct 2013, 15:44 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 17:13
Posts: 146
Location: Tartu, Estonia
tryagain wrote:
http://trac.navit-project.org/ticket/951


Oh, nice, I haven't seen that before - I will also think a while where to place it in the menu structure...


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature request: Location by geodetic coordinates
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2013, 10:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 09:32
Posts: 200
Location: Rostock, North Germany
IMHO we will have fundamental refactoring of the menu structures, so if we will just have a dialog, then we should add it to one menu entry. Maybe at "tools"?


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature request: Location by geodetic coordinates
PostPosted: 06 Oct 2013, 16:22 
Offline

Joined: 14 Jun 2013, 11:02
Posts: 24
It's navigation - so as an option in the routing menu. Best right next to Bookmarks and City as "Coordinates" or "By Coordinates".


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature request: Location by geodetic coordinates
PostPosted: 06 Oct 2013, 17:26 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 09:32
Posts: 200
Location: Rostock, North Germany
So who likes to address this request? :)


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature request: Location by geodetic coordinates
PostPosted: 06 Oct 2013, 19:08 
Offline

Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 08:06
Posts: 3
ZeroOne wrote:
It's navigation - so as an option in the routing menu. Best right next to Bookmarks and City as "Coordinates" or "By Coordinates".


Wouldn't "Geolocation" sound better? Or even "Landmark" (which has a slightly different meaning though).

Looking at landscape.png of ticket #951 it would make sense to reverse the top-down given examples:

52º 31' 19.00" N 19º 24' 46.00" E (adding fractional seconds, and an optional " sign)
52º 31.3167 N 19º 24.7667 E
52.5219 N 19.4127 E

(Fractional seconds is absolutely essential in order to increase precision below 30 metres.)


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature request: Location by geodetic coordinates
PostPosted: 06 Oct 2013, 19:33 
Offline

Joined: 14 Jun 2013, 11:02
Posts: 24
the menu name can be changed if anyone doesn't like the given one - I'm not the specialist for GPS coordinates and the correct naming of these things but Geolocation definitly sounds better, so you get my vote

+1 "Geolocation" ;-)


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature request: Location by geodetic coordinates
PostPosted: 07 Oct 2013, 20:49 
Offline

Joined: 23 Jun 2013, 20:15
Posts: 65
Location: Essen, Germany
Hm, I don't think "geolocation" makes sense as a menu entry. According to Wikipedia, geolocation is "the identification of the real-world geographic location of an object". That would not make me think about entering coordinates. I think we should just use "Coordinates".

I'll add this to the default navit.xml in the next days, unless there are objections.


 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Silver Orange 2.0.6 for IPB Designed by Skins and Hosting
Converted for phpBB3, based on Royal Blue template by BigB © 2007 2008 AEON KINGS