navit-project.org
http://forum.navit-project.org/

[solved] Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)
http://forum.navit-project.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=446
Page 1 of 2

Author:  efred [ 07 Oct 2013, 06:30 ]
Post subject:  [solved] Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)

Is there a problem with the maps from maps.navit-project.org?
If I download a map from there, there is the whole map blue - like its under water.

Map from 03.10.2013 and also the maps from 06.10.2013. I've tested the predefined Switzerland and also just my village and just 20x20 m around my place. Its always all under water.

My device: Android 4.3; Tested with Navit svn-5649 and svn-5647 ; customized navit.xml from svn-5649 but nothing changed that brings this error.

(Over http://tools.geofabrik.de/osmi/ I can't really find an error in OSM that brings this error in Switzerland)

(If I download just a part from Switzerland its minimum 65 MB big. Also, if I download just 20 x 20 m around my place. why?

Author:  usul [ 07 Oct 2013, 10:39 ]
Post subject:  Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)

Are you skilled with maptool and can try to convert the current Swiss planet extract on your own machine, please?
http://download.geofabrik.de/

Currently I have no idea how to figure out, which water element causes the problems. Anybody else?

Author:  efred [ 07 Oct 2013, 12:47 ]
Post subject:  Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)

usul wrote:
Are you skilled with maptool and can try to convert the current Swiss planet extract on your own machine, please?
http://download.geofabrik.de/
Currently I have no idea how to figure out, which water element causes the problems. Anybody else?


If I create my own maps, the maps aren't blue. I've testet it now also with a clean svn-5650: these maps are o.k.

EDIT 2: Sizes of maps:
Map created via maptool svn-5650: 108 MB
Map downloaded via planet extractor: 322 MB

EDIT: screenshots added

Map created via maptool svn-5650:
Image

Map downloaded via planet extractor:
Image

Author:  elhennig [ 07 Oct 2013, 13:22 ]
Post subject:  Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)

I have the same problem (see screenshot). However this only happens on my Samsung Galaxy S3 running Slimbean 4.3 while my stock Sony Xperia SP displays the map correctly (both using exactly the same map file). The information in Navit on a point in the blue area shows "poly_water_tiled". The blue area is not shown in the maps on the download server nor in openstreetmap.
Any idea?

Attachments:
Screenshot_2013-10-07-14-57-48_2.png
Screenshot_2013-10-07-14-57-48_2.png [ 233.63 KiB | Viewed 13356 times ]

Author:  xenos1984 [ 07 Oct 2013, 18:18 ]
Post subject:  Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)

elhennig wrote:
The information in Navit on a point in the blue area shows "poly_water_tiled".


When you click on this info "poly_water_tiled", and than on "Attributes", you should see the OSM ID of the way which is responsible for this water / causing the problem.

Mostly this happens when some coastline is broken, but I haven't seen this in Switzerland before - it's hard to get flooded without a single coast ;)

Author:  Mapmapper [ 08 Oct 2013, 04:16 ]
Post subject:  Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)

I think, it could be the Bodensee. He has a big number of outer-ways in his Multipolygon.

Author:  xenos1984 [ 08 Oct 2013, 05:16 ]
Post subject:  Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)

Indeed there was a recent edit of the Lake Constance (or Bodensee in German) - but I can't find what would be wrong now...

http://www.openstreetmap.org/browse/changeset/18126759
http://www.openstreetmap.org/browse/relation/1156846

Author:  efred [ 08 Oct 2013, 08:17 ]
Post subject:  Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)

Now, I've tested also the Switzerland-map from the planet extractor under Ubuntu: same problem. Its all under water. So it isn't an Android-Issue.

I've seen, there are a lot of other things in this map, that shouldn't be there. p.e. Marseille, Milano, M√ľnchen usw... why? This will be also the reason for these huge maps (planet extractor: 323 MB / map created via maptool: 108 MB.

So maybe the problem could be at an other place instead of the Bodensee?

Attachments:
Bildschirmfoto vom 2013-10-08 100154 (Small).png
Bildschirmfoto vom 2013-10-08 100154 (Small).png [ 97.54 KiB | Viewed 13336 times ]

Author:  usul [ 08 Oct 2013, 08:41 ]
Post subject:  Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)

Keep in mind, that it can also be a mix of multiple problems, like Bodensee for flooding and a recend commit to maptool for catching up a bigger area for extraction ;)

Author:  tryagain [ 08 Oct 2013, 17:27 ]
Post subject:  Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)

Reason for maps from the extractor being bigger than self built ones is binfile structure and our extraction algo. These details can be found at http://wiki.navit-project.org/index.php/Binfile

To be short, extractor can decide to keep or to drop a complete binfile tile (not part of it), so you may have far away important objects kept with your small area extracts.

Dundingen and Landershofen water came from the http://www.openstreetmap.org/browse/way/239051163 isle marked as coastline.

I'm unsure of the tature of water to the northeast of Landershofen. But yesterday night I have seen a big hole in the Eurasia coastline near France IIRC. Such a hole could easily flood very big map areas with water.

To get more on tracking down broken coastlines, please do the poly_water_tiled search on our trac,navit-project.org.

tryagain

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/