navit-project.org

forum for navit navigation tool
It is currently 22 Nov 2017, 20:20
View unanswered posts | View active topics


All times are UTC


Forum rules


Feel free to ask anything here related to the installation and configuration of Navit.

Some notes before your first post:

Please provide as much informations as possible:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: [solved] Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)
PostPosted: 07 Oct 2013, 06:30 
Offline

Joined: 12 Jun 2013, 11:20
Posts: 47
Location: Faoug - Switzerland
Is there a problem with the maps from maps.navit-project.org?
If I download a map from there, there is the whole map blue - like its under water.

Map from 03.10.2013 and also the maps from 06.10.2013. I've tested the predefined Switzerland and also just my village and just 20x20 m around my place. Its always all under water.

My device: Android 4.3; Tested with Navit svn-5649 and svn-5647 ; customized navit.xml from svn-5649 but nothing changed that brings this error.

(Over http://tools.geofabrik.de/osmi/ I can't really find an error in OSM that brings this error in Switzerland)

(If I download just a part from Switzerland its minimum 65 MB big. Also, if I download just 20 x 20 m around my place. why?

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
my G+


Last edited by efred on 17 Oct 2013, 12:05, edited 2 times in total.

 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)
PostPosted: 07 Oct 2013, 10:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 09:32
Posts: 200
Location: Rostock, North Germany
Are you skilled with maptool and can try to convert the current Swiss planet extract on your own machine, please?
http://download.geofabrik.de/

Currently I have no idea how to figure out, which water element causes the problems. Anybody else?


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)
PostPosted: 07 Oct 2013, 12:47 
Offline

Joined: 12 Jun 2013, 11:20
Posts: 47
Location: Faoug - Switzerland
usul wrote:
Are you skilled with maptool and can try to convert the current Swiss planet extract on your own machine, please?
http://download.geofabrik.de/
Currently I have no idea how to figure out, which water element causes the problems. Anybody else?


If I create my own maps, the maps aren't blue. I've testet it now also with a clean svn-5650: these maps are o.k.

EDIT 2: Sizes of maps:
Map created via maptool svn-5650: 108 MB
Map downloaded via planet extractor: 322 MB

EDIT: screenshots added

Map created via maptool svn-5650:
Image

Map downloaded via planet extractor:
Image

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
my G+


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)
PostPosted: 07 Oct 2013, 13:22 
Offline

Joined: 04 Jul 2013, 07:57
Posts: 2
I have the same problem (see screenshot). However this only happens on my Samsung Galaxy S3 running Slimbean 4.3 while my stock Sony Xperia SP displays the map correctly (both using exactly the same map file). The information in Navit on a point in the blue area shows "poly_water_tiled". The blue area is not shown in the maps on the download server nor in openstreetmap.
Any idea?


Attachments:
Screenshot_2013-10-07-14-57-48_2.png
Screenshot_2013-10-07-14-57-48_2.png [ 233.63 KiB | Viewed 5484 times ]
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)
PostPosted: 07 Oct 2013, 18:18 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 17:13
Posts: 146
Location: Tartu, Estonia
elhennig wrote:
The information in Navit on a point in the blue area shows "poly_water_tiled".


When you click on this info "poly_water_tiled", and than on "Attributes", you should see the OSM ID of the way which is responsible for this water / causing the problem.

Mostly this happens when some coastline is broken, but I haven't seen this in Switzerland before - it's hard to get flooded without a single coast ;)


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2013, 04:16 
Offline

Joined: 26 Sep 2013, 10:59
Posts: 50
I think, it could be the Bodensee. He has a big number of outer-ways in his Multipolygon.


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2013, 05:16 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 17:13
Posts: 146
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Indeed there was a recent edit of the Lake Constance (or Bodensee in German) - but I can't find what would be wrong now...

http://www.openstreetmap.org/browse/changeset/18126759
http://www.openstreetmap.org/browse/relation/1156846


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2013, 08:17 
Offline

Joined: 12 Jun 2013, 11:20
Posts: 47
Location: Faoug - Switzerland
Now, I've tested also the Switzerland-map from the planet extractor under Ubuntu: same problem. Its all under water. So it isn't an Android-Issue.

I've seen, there are a lot of other things in this map, that shouldn't be there. p.e. Marseille, Milano, München usw... why? This will be also the reason for these huge maps (planet extractor: 323 MB / map created via maptool: 108 MB.

So maybe the problem could be at an other place instead of the Bodensee?


Attachments:
Bildschirmfoto vom 2013-10-08 100154 (Small).png
Bildschirmfoto vom 2013-10-08 100154 (Small).png [ 97.54 KiB | Viewed 5464 times ]

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
my G+
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2013, 08:41 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 09:32
Posts: 200
Location: Rostock, North Germany
Keep in mind, that it can also be a mix of multiple problems, like Bodensee for flooding and a recend commit to maptool for catching up a bigger area for extraction ;)


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bug: Map under water (Switzerland)
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2013, 17:27 
Offline

Joined: 09 Jul 2013, 17:41
Posts: 82
Reason for maps from the extractor being bigger than self built ones is binfile structure and our extraction algo. These details can be found at http://wiki.navit-project.org/index.php/Binfile

To be short, extractor can decide to keep or to drop a complete binfile tile (not part of it), so you may have far away important objects kept with your small area extracts.

Dundingen and Landershofen water came from the http://www.openstreetmap.org/browse/way/239051163 isle marked as coastline.

I'm unsure of the tature of water to the northeast of Landershofen. But yesterday night I have seen a big hole in the Eurasia coastline near France IIRC. Such a hole could easily flood very big map areas with water.

To get more on tracking down broken coastlines, please do the poly_water_tiled search on our trac,navit-project.org.

tryagain


 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Silver Orange 2.0.6 for IPB Designed by Skins and Hosting
Converted for phpBB3, based on Royal Blue template by BigB © 2007 2008 AEON KINGS