navit-project.org
http://forum.navit-project.org/

[WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water
http://forum.navit-project.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=438
Page 1 of 1

Author:  mantier [ 26 Aug 2013, 12:26 ]
Post subject:  [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water

Hello,

I installed Navit (the as latest stable release promoted 0.2.0) on my about 10 years old Windows CE 4.0 navigation device. So far after some work on the configuration file it works well. But there are two problems. The minor, a bit annoying one I would like to discuss here:

the map is rendering well with one exception: sometimes the whole map is under water, sometimes only a small stripe perpendicular to the screen (differs on every new rendered screen).

I read the statement on the troubleshoot page but since I downloaded the map using the Navit :: Planet Extractor (this problem has occurred with different map sets I tried) I do not really understand what to do. I don't believe I am supposed to work with this maptool, am I? Since I downloaded it from the extractor I believe the problem is somewhere else.

Regards, Gerrit.

Author:  efred [ 26 Aug 2013, 12:49 ]
Post subject:  Re: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water

mantier wrote:
Hello,

I installed Navit (the as latest stable release promoted 0.2.0) on my about 10 years old Windows CE 4.0 navigation device. So far after some work on the configuration file it works well. But there are two problems. The minor, a bit annoying one I would like to discuss here:

the map is rendering well with one exception: sometimes the whole map is under water, sometimes only a small stripe perpendicular to the screen (differs on every new rendered screen).

I read the statement on the troubleshoot page but since I downloaded the map using the Navit :: Planet Extractor (this problem has occurred with different map sets I tried) I do not really understand what to do. I don't believe I am supposed to work with this maptool, am I? Since I downloaded it from the extractor I believe the problem is somewhere else.

Regards, Gerrit.


Maybe, this problem will be solved also, if you install an actual svn-version (0.2.0 is really old).

Author:  xenos1984 [ 26 Aug 2013, 17:48 ]
Post subject:  Re: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water

On WinCE you probably want the newest version from here:

http://download.navit-project.org/navit ... cmake/svn/

Author:  mantier [ 29 Aug 2013, 09:38 ]
Post subject:  Re: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water

I installed version 5617. Unfortunately this problem hasn't been solved. I found the exact same problem as a bug ticket though:

http://trac.navit-project.org/ticket/745

I will try out the "poly_water_tiled" dirty workaround. I guess I could live with some water not drawn. Could be worse. I will report how this is working out.

By the way: is there a notable difference between the wince_cmake files and the normal wince files? I could not find any information about that.

Author:  usul [ 30 Aug 2013, 19:33 ]
Post subject:  Re: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water

Thats weired.
I use a 55xx SVN, too but I just don't have any water oO.

Can please provide us some more informations?
- Timestamp of your map and it's bbox
- Permalink to the OSM area, where you observed that bug
A good place would be the ticket and this post (if you like).

Author:  tauso [ 07 Sep 2013, 16:00 ]
Post subject:  Re: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water

I have the same problem, seams to be a polygon error on the coast of the baltic sea in Poland.

usul wrote:
- Timestamp of your map and it's bbox

bbox=11.7,49.9,15.3,51.9
timestamp=130906

Author:  tryagain [ 09 Sep 2013, 11:32 ]
Post subject:  Re: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water

tauso wrote:
I have the same problem, seams to be a polygon error on the coast of the baltic sea in Poland.
bbox=11.7,49.9,15.3,51.9
timestamp=130906

Actually, yes.

These underwater areas correspond a related to broken osm coastlines. This is not WinCE or any other platform issue. You may check coastlines with [http://tools.geofabrik.de/osmi/ osm Inspector] that coastline is good and fix them.

To get a hint, what is broken locally this time (usually, a lake island marked with natural=coastline), you may act as follows. Press a blue area, go to Actions -> Globe icon with coordinates -> select poly_water_tiled item from the list and get osm_wayid value. Then analyse www.openstreetmap.org/browse/way/1111, where 1111 is wayid you've got from navit.

Author:  xenos1984 [ 14 Sep 2013, 17:07 ]
Post subject:  Re: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water

Yesterday I fixed Westpommern: http://www.openstreetmap.org/browse/changeset/17814727

If there is still water, I'll try something else...

Author:  usul [ 15 Sep 2013, 07:45 ]
Post subject:  Re: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water

Yesterday the IRC says, that everything was fine again. So thank you very much :)

Maybe we should create a ticket, to develop a more stable coastline processing?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/