navit-project.org

forum for navit navigation tool
It is currently 21 Nov 2017, 19:17
View unanswered posts | View active topics


All times are UTC


Forum rules


Feel free to ask anything here related to the installation and configuration of Navit.

Some notes before your first post:

Please provide as much informations as possible:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water
PostPosted: 26 Aug 2013, 12:26 
Offline

Joined: 26 Aug 2013, 12:08
Posts: 4
Hello,

I installed Navit (the as latest stable release promoted 0.2.0) on my about 10 years old Windows CE 4.0 navigation device. So far after some work on the configuration file it works well. But there are two problems. The minor, a bit annoying one I would like to discuss here:

the map is rendering well with one exception: sometimes the whole map is under water, sometimes only a small stripe perpendicular to the screen (differs on every new rendered screen).

I read the statement on the troubleshoot page but since I downloaded the map using the Navit :: Planet Extractor (this problem has occurred with different map sets I tried) I do not really understand what to do. I don't believe I am supposed to work with this maptool, am I? Since I downloaded it from the extractor I believe the problem is somewhere else.

Regards, Gerrit.


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water
PostPosted: 26 Aug 2013, 12:49 
Offline

Joined: 12 Jun 2013, 11:20
Posts: 47
Location: Faoug - Switzerland
mantier wrote:
Hello,

I installed Navit (the as latest stable release promoted 0.2.0) on my about 10 years old Windows CE 4.0 navigation device. So far after some work on the configuration file it works well. But there are two problems. The minor, a bit annoying one I would like to discuss here:

the map is rendering well with one exception: sometimes the whole map is under water, sometimes only a small stripe perpendicular to the screen (differs on every new rendered screen).

I read the statement on the troubleshoot page but since I downloaded the map using the Navit :: Planet Extractor (this problem has occurred with different map sets I tried) I do not really understand what to do. I don't believe I am supposed to work with this maptool, am I? Since I downloaded it from the extractor I believe the problem is somewhere else.

Regards, Gerrit.


Maybe, this problem will be solved also, if you install an actual svn-version (0.2.0 is really old).

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
my G+


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water
PostPosted: 26 Aug 2013, 17:48 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 17:13
Posts: 146
Location: Tartu, Estonia
On WinCE you probably want the newest version from here:

http://download.navit-project.org/navit ... cmake/svn/


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water
PostPosted: 29 Aug 2013, 09:38 
Offline

Joined: 26 Aug 2013, 12:08
Posts: 4
I installed version 5617. Unfortunately this problem hasn't been solved. I found the exact same problem as a bug ticket though:

http://trac.navit-project.org/ticket/745

I will try out the "poly_water_tiled" dirty workaround. I guess I could live with some water not drawn. Could be worse. I will report how this is working out.

By the way: is there a notable difference between the wince_cmake files and the normal wince files? I could not find any information about that.


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water
PostPosted: 30 Aug 2013, 19:33 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 09:32
Posts: 200
Location: Rostock, North Germany
Thats weired.
I use a 55xx SVN, too but I just don't have any water oO.

Can please provide us some more informations?
- Timestamp of your map and it's bbox
- Permalink to the OSM area, where you observed that bug
A good place would be the ticket and this post (if you like).


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water
PostPosted: 07 Sep 2013, 16:00 
Offline

Joined: 16 Jun 2013, 11:11
Posts: 16
Location: Dresden, Germany
I have the same problem, seams to be a polygon error on the coast of the baltic sea in Poland.

usul wrote:
- Timestamp of your map and it's bbox

bbox=11.7,49.9,15.3,51.9
timestamp=130906

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
Navit on: Sony Z1 compact (Android 5.1.1)


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water
PostPosted: 09 Sep 2013, 11:32 
Offline

Joined: 09 Jul 2013, 17:41
Posts: 82
tauso wrote:
I have the same problem, seams to be a polygon error on the coast of the baltic sea in Poland.
bbox=11.7,49.9,15.3,51.9
timestamp=130906

Actually, yes.

These underwater areas correspond a related to broken osm coastlines. This is not WinCE or any other platform issue. You may check coastlines with [http://tools.geofabrik.de/osmi/ osm Inspector] that coastline is good and fix them.

To get a hint, what is broken locally this time (usually, a lake island marked with natural=coastline), you may act as follows. Press a blue area, go to Actions -> Globe icon with coordinates -> select poly_water_tiled item from the list and get osm_wayid value. Then analyse www.openstreetmap.org/browse/way/1111, where 1111 is wayid you've got from navit.


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water
PostPosted: 14 Sep 2013, 17:07 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 17:13
Posts: 146
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Yesterday I fixed Westpommern: http://www.openstreetmap.org/browse/changeset/17814727

If there is still water, I'll try something else...


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [WinCE] Whole map or parts are under water
PostPosted: 15 Sep 2013, 07:45 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 09:32
Posts: 200
Location: Rostock, North Germany
Yesterday the IRC says, that everything was fine again. So thank you very much :)

Maybe we should create a ticket, to develop a more stable coastline processing?


 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Silver Orange 2.0.6 for IPB Designed by Skins and Hosting
Converted for phpBB3, based on Royal Blue template by BigB © 2007 2008 AEON KINGS