navit-project.org

forum for navit navigation tool
It is currently 18 Nov 2017, 08:38
View unanswered posts | View active topics


All times are UTC


Forum rules


Feel free to ask anything here related to the development process - coding, creating new features, fixing bugs and custom changes of Navit.

Note: For reporting bugs, use the bug tracker.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: How to find and use Maptool
PostPosted: 11 Aug 2013, 12:29 
Offline

Joined: 06 Aug 2013, 17:28
Posts: 13
Version: navit-svn-5561-setup.exe
PC: Windows 7

After the installation in Windows directory: C:\Programme(x86)\Navit
I can not find the file maptool.exe for converting OSM_map.osm to OSM_map.bin

Is this file separately to install?


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to find and use Maptool
PostPosted: 11 Aug 2013, 12:49 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 17:13
Posts: 146
Location: Tartu, Estonia
I don't know about these Windows packages since I'm not using Windows at all, but it seems that also in the
zip files (http://download.navit-project.org/navit/win32/svn/navit-current.zip) there is no Maptool. However, you can find it in these zip files:

http://download.navit-project.org/navit ... urrent.zip
http://download.navit-project.org/navit ... urrent.zip

Both should work for you.


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to find and use Maptool
PostPosted: 11 Aug 2013, 18:07 
Offline

Joined: 06 Aug 2013, 17:28
Posts: 13
Thanks for the link to maptool

In the application of the program, I get no further.
With Windows7 I used the command:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Navit\bin>maptool -i d:\navit\osm\map.osm d:\map.bin

a window with the error message appears: maptool.exe no longer works

If I try maptool.exe alone also appears the same error message

What is wrong!


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to find and use Maptool
PostPosted: 11 Aug 2013, 18:34 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 09:32
Posts: 200
Location: Rostock, North Germany
Hi Herman,

is there any special reason, why you try to use maptool manually?

We offer custom OSM binfile areas from our servers, that are (mostly) on a daily update:
http://maps.navit-project.org

P.S.
I got now finally different Windows versions to test our releases against them :) So maybe I can say something within the next days.


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to find and use Maptool
PostPosted: 11 Aug 2013, 21:01 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 17:13
Posts: 146
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Is there any other information, like some command line output, or does it crash just at the beginning? Maybe it has problems loading some libraries...


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to find and use Maptool
PostPosted: 12 Aug 2013, 16:15 
Offline

Joined: 06 Aug 2013, 17:28
Posts: 13
Hi Usul!
For me, the Arabic letters in the Navit_OSM.bin are somewhat illegible. :?
For such zones a card with Latin characters is desirable.
On the page http://toolserver.org/~osm/locale/en.html
I have found the right. With maptool it becomes a Navit.bin.
If the original characters required, just the Map switched.


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to find and use Maptool
PostPosted: 12 Aug 2013, 16:44 
Offline

Joined: 06 Aug 2013, 17:28
Posts: 13
Hi xenos1984!
After 1 seconds, in command line is SPAGE_SIZE 4096, SVALIGN: 33554432
In Windows the window with the error message.

Computer data:
System: ASUS Notebook
Windows7 Home Premium
64 Bit-Operating system
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2430M CPU 2.40GHz
Memory: 6,00 GB
Navit itself works fine on my laptop but i have no GPS on Board.


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to find and use Maptool
PostPosted: 12 Aug 2013, 20:13 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 17:13
Posts: 146
Location: Tartu, Estonia
So at least maptool seems to du something before crashing... Unfortunately I cannot provide any further support on Windows, I don't even have Windows here and didn't use it for years. But I hope someone from the team can have a look.


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to find and use Maptool
PostPosted: 13 Aug 2013, 09:49 
Offline

Joined: 12 Jun 2013, 11:20
Posts: 47
Location: Faoug - Switzerland
@hermann,
Windows isn't so good supportet. So it would be the better way, if you install VirtualBox on Windows and then in Virtualbox an Ubuntu-Client. Then you can install navit and maptool under Ubuntu and so maptool should work's perfect.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
my G+


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to find and use Maptool
PostPosted: 14 Aug 2013, 12:33 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2013, 09:32
Posts: 200
Location: Rostock, North Germany
@herman I will try to get a virtual machine with Windows ready, but please be patient.

If I understand you right, you want to see not the local strings of a area (as OSM name=*) but the international versions (as name:en=*)?

I guess it would be a useful feature for navit at all. If you like, please submit a feature request as currently nobody seems to have that in focus:
http://trac.navit-project.org/query?sta ... ords=~i18n


 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Silver Orange 2.0.6 for IPB Designed by Skins and Hosting
Converted for phpBB3, based on Royal Blue template by BigB © 2007 2008 AEON KINGS