navit-project.org
http://forum.navit-project.org/

Installation under Windows CE 5.0 fails
http://forum.navit-project.org/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=563
Page 1 of 3

Author:  DrmCa [ 16 May 2015, 19:40 ]
Post subject:  Installation under Windows CE 5.0 fails

Trying to install navit-current.cab under Win CE and it failed with an error message re navit.exe: The file could not be copied.

When I cancel, the CAB file is no more and I have to copy it onto the micro SD card again.

Tried several times, every time downloading a new CAB from the site. Every time it tried copying navit.exe and failed at some point, or succeeded on that file and failed on some other random file a few moments later. What am I doing wrong?

Author:  tryagain [ 16 May 2015, 23:23 ]
Post subject:  Re: Installation under Windows CE 5.0 fails

Hi!

As install process fails at random places, I guess it more likely to be some device problem (free space? hardware?) than cab package itself.

Have you tried our zip distribution? Simply extract it to your device into the \navit directory and try to run navit.exe.

Author:  DrmCa [ 17 May 2015, 15:44 ]
Post subject:  Maps larger than 2 GB not supported by this executable.

Ok, I figured it was lack of space.
Deleted some files and installation completed successfully.

Now I am trying to load the maps and figure out what port to use on the device.
For now I am getting a message re
Code:
Maps larger than 2 GB not supported by this executable.

I was loading South Ontario (290 MB BIN file), than the Greater Toronto Area (120 MB), than GTA West End only (90 MB), than just my city of Brampton (83 MB) and all of them produced the same error.

How does that make sense, when the map of Germany which comes with the distro is 1.2 MB only?
I can't believe that Germany has so little mapping data compared with Canada.

Example: when I selected Brampton, the UI estimated map size around 83 MB.
Selected Mississauga, which is just the same size South of Brampton - same size.
Selected both of them - 90 MB for 2x the area with about the same density. Something must be wrong.

Author:  DrmCa [ 23 May 2015, 12:13 ]
Post subject:  Re: Installation under Windows CE 5.0 fails

Bumping Up

Author:  tryagain [ 24 May 2015, 14:38 ]
Post subject:  Re: Maps larger than 2 GB not supported by this executable.

DrmCa wrote:
For now I am getting a message re
Code:
Maps larger than 2 GB not supported by this executable.


That's ok. It means you should not attempt to load maps over 2gb of size. It has no connection to map size you are actually using now.
DrmCa wrote:
I was loading South Ontario (290 MB BIN file), than the Greater Toronto Area (120 MB), than GTA West End only (90 MB), than just my city of Brampton (83 MB) and all of them produced the same error.

That is not a error you actually have in your setup, see above.
DrmCa wrote:
How does that make sense, when the map of Germany which comes with the distro is 1.2 MB only?
I can't believe that Germany has so little mapping data compared with Canada.

In the distro you have Munchen sample map, probably based on an ancient osm extract.
Planet extractor gives you fresh data, and it has over 70mb overhead on every piece you download.
DrmCa wrote:
Example: when I selected Brampton, the UI estimated map size around 83 MB.
Selected Mississauga, which is just the same size South of Brampton - same size.
Selected both of them - 90 MB for 2x the area with about the same density. Something must be wrong.

That's not wrong, that's just how it works.
If you do not have your map shown, please verify if you see it under settings-maps. Then try searching in action-town. If you see a flag different from Canada, tap it and select your country, then try searching for a town.
Also please note, having multiple map files active at the same time is not yet fully supported, so it's better to enable only one map.

Author:  DrmCa [ 25 May 2015, 13:22 ]
Post subject:  Re: Installation under Windows CE 5.0 fails

Does that mean that a 90 MB map actually contains over 2 GB of data?

Author:  tryagain [ 25 May 2015, 21:09 ]
Post subject:  Re: Installation under Windows CE 5.0 fails

No, it does not.
Just do not attempt to download an area for your device if you see estimated size on planet extractor of 2 gb and above.

Author:  DrmCa [ 27 May 2015, 20:31 ]
Post subject:  Re: Installation under Windows CE 5.0 fails

But that's the whole point! I see on planet extractor that the size is let's say 83 MB. But when I am trying to load that file, the message in the log says that maps over 2 GB are not supported. This is what seems to be confusing for me :(

Author:  DrmCa [ 20 Jun 2015, 18:42 ]
Post subject:  Re: Installation under Windows CE 5.0 fails

Bumping up

Author:  Goverp [ 22 Jun 2015, 11:57 ]
Post subject:  Re: Maps larger than 2 GB not supported by this executable.

tryagain wrote:
DrmCa wrote:
For now I am getting a message re
Code:
Maps larger than 2 GB not supported by this executable.


That's ok. It means you should not attempt to load maps over 2gb of size. It has no connection to map size you are actually using now.
...


IIUC, tryagain means you may have successfully downloaded the map. I remember being confused by navit when I first used it because the initial position is set according to the "default" map, and by using a different one, you end up in the midst of a large area of nothing, so the screen is blank. AFAIR I had to either change my initial position to somewhere within the map I was using, or zoom out a lot until a little bit of squashed up map crept into a corner of the display.

Of course, I may be talking rubbish and you may have some other problem stopping you downloading the map.

Page 1 of 3 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/