navit-project.org
http://forum.navit-project.org/

Trying to load the map of Ontario, Canada
http://forum.navit-project.org/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=558
Page 1 of 1

Author:  DrmCa [ 09 May 2015, 12:25 ]
Post subject:  Trying to load the map of Ontario, Canada

Hi all,

After downloading the latest build for Windows to the laptop with 8GB RAM, changing the config file to load the map of Souther Ontario, Canada, downloaded from Navit planet extractor as well (box -83.4,41.7,-75.1,46.8 which is approx. 315 MB), and connecting the GPS receiver, I get a blank screen with a blue dot in the middle of the lower 1/4.

Initially nothing was written into the log file after I figured out the COM port #, but after playing further with the slightly different areas (larger or smaller boxes of Southern Ontario) I started getting errors regarding different offsets in the map file. When I revert back to the original config file, I get the map of Germany.

The maps (loading one at a time) are showing in the settings/maps and are checked off.

Tried changing the initial location to the spot approximately where I am within the map, but nothing changed.

What would you need to look at to help me find out what I am doing wrong?

Thank you!

Author:  tryagain [ 13 May 2015, 22:41 ]
Post subject:  Re: Trying to load the map of Ontario, Canada

DrmCa wrote:
After downloading the latest build for Windows to the laptop with 8GB RAM, changing the config file to load the map of Souther Ontario, Canada, downloaded from Navit planet extractor as well (box -83.4,41.7,-75.1,46.8 which is approx. 315 MB), and connecting the GPS receiver, I get a blank screen with a blue dot in the middle of the lower 1/4.

Looks like your gps device configuration is ok.
DrmCa wrote:
Initially nothing was written into the log file after I figured out the COM port #, but after playing further with the slightly different areas (larger or smaller boxes of Southern Ontario) I started getting errors regarding different offsets in the map file. When I revert back to the original config file, I get the map of Germany.

Can you please upload your log or excerpts from it. I can't remember seeing offset errors in map file.
Also, sharing your navit.xml may make sense.
DrmCa wrote:
What would you need to look at to help me find out what I am doing wrong?

Does town/street search work? Go to actions->Town, select your country if it's not already active (press country flag image), then try to search for a town in your downloaded area.

Do you have any results? Can you navigate the map display to the downloaded area that way?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/