navit-project.org
http://forum.navit-project.org/

Internal GUI: combine OSD buttons and map point menu
http://forum.navit-project.org/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=467
Page 2 of 2

Author:  Klosels [ 13 Nov 2013, 22:29 ]
Post subject:  Re: Internal GUI: combine OSD buttons and map point menu

chr wrote:
You can use the OSD-item 'button' with a transparent empty image and a neutral action for this purpose.

I do use one invisible button ontop of the compass to toggle the orientation and on ontop of the gps indicator to toggle the fellow_cursor. This way I can search (zoom and shift) the map while routing.

Now that's clever indeed :D
Thanks for sharing!

chr wrote:
To keep the display lid on the N810, you can as well send the following dcop signal from a shell script every 30 seconds.

On the N810 I find the behaviour of the Navit N810 build of keeping the backlight on while there's a GPS signal ok.
In this case I was actually referring to running Navit on a WinCE portable device - sorry for not mentioning that. I temporarily had to switch to that as long as I'm waiting for a spare part for the N810.

The WinCE device is a CompeGPS Sportiva.
I guess there's no WinCE specific code in Navit which controls the backlight?

Author:  chr [ 14 Nov 2013, 07:28 ]
Post subject:  Re: Internal GUI: combine OSD buttons and map point menu

Klosels wrote:
On the N810 I find the behaviour of the Navit N810 build of keeping the backlight on while there's a GPS signal ok.

Thank you for pointing this out! This explains why the display randomly blanks on long journeys. The GPS signal is lost.


Quote:
I guess there's no WinCE specific code in Navit which controls the backlight?

Searching the sources for 'backlight' returns about 15 hits in four files. It looks like there is some specific code for WinCE.

Author:  Klosels [ 15 Nov 2013, 10:24 ]
Post subject:  Re: Internal GUI: combine OSD buttons and map point menu

chr wrote:
Searching the sources for 'backlight' returns about 15 hits in four files. It looks like there is some specific code for WinCE.

I checked out the sources now and the required code (Set/ReleasePowerRequirement) is indeed there, though I don't understand if it's really called. If I'll succeed in creating my own WinCE build and find the time I'll have a look myself, otherwise open another thread or trac ticket.

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/